Good Enough

IMG_1078

When I set up my sheep shelters back in May, I didn’t have fresh tarps or enough zip ties on hand. I put up the three-year-old worn-out tarps, fastening them with the last of my ties, just enough to hold them on. I told myself I’d fix the shelters later.

On my next trip to the hardware store, I obediently bought the necessary tarps and ties. Yet somehow I have never gotten around to removing the ripped tarps or even snugging them down with extra ties. The shelters look trashy but work fine. They are good enough.

I’ve long since moved onto the next chore.

Similarly, though I always promised myself the shabby look of baling twine holding things together wouldn’t happen on my farm, there is quite a bit of orange plastic pressed into service around these acres. Here the gas lever is tied open on Allen’s old pull-mower. Eventually this had to be officially repaired by Mike, but for quite some time, the baling twine solution kept me (and the mower) going.

IMG_0898

I’ve used my barn addition for two years without building the side and rear doors; I haven’t built the front doors for the garden shed I built last year. I’ve had the cattle grazing in the back field without wiring the field’s own, separate charger.

In several areas of my life I am a perfectionist. I don’t have that luxury at the farm.

I dream of having enough time to finish every project and not rushing from chore to chore, telling myself that whatever I’m dealing with is good enough.

5 Responses to Good Enough

  1. Ned says:

    We all probably start out with grand notions of pristine pastures and perfect fences, shelters and equipment. Then reality smacks us in the face. Especially if we hold down full time jobs off the farm. I rarely have time or resources to fix something right the first time so it gets patched with the intent of getting to it tomorrow. Quite often tomorrow is a long time coming. I don’t know how many temporary fences end up semi-permanent and how much of the farm at some point has been held together with bailing twine and duct tape. Yes, “Good Enough” keeps our heads above water.

  2. Missy says:

    Haha, A few years ago I started making list of all the things being held together at my place with baling twine. Mine is pink or blue though. I think orange is less noticeable.

  3. Shawn says:

    I thought the same thoughts the other night as I was walking through my corral. As I saw leaning fence posts and makeshift repairs, I silently told my dad I understood why he lets some things go. Sometimes you just get tired.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I think tiredness is part of it (I certainly get tired!) but at least for me, a bigger part is no time. The list is always too long and one is on to the next thing.

Leave a Reply

