My Baby is Nineteen!

IMG_1827.JPG

Today is Lucy’s nineteenth birthday. She’s off at college. This is the first birthday of hers for which I have not been able to arrange a cake. In last week’s madness I baked chocolate chip cookies and rushed them to town, but I missed the cut-off for UPS, so I brought the cookies home and put them in the freezer. I will mail them tomorrow.

I am so proud of my girl. Still, for all my celebration of the cheerful, kind, admirable young woman Lucy has become, it makes me wistful to see my youngest growing up and away — off to join her big brother in adulthood.

Somehow I thought I would be drying my children’s mittens forever.

IMG_1826.JPG

Leave a Reply

