Hooray! It’s Vacation!

“O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!” she chortled in her joy.

I have made it through the term!

So many problems piled on in recent weeks — two days after the wheel came off DH’s company car, my truck locked up and spun sideways on the drive to work and had to be towed; then DH, driving the family car, found himself unable to turn the ignition key; then I brought the rattletrap old truck back to this house to put it in the garage for the winter and discovered that a new maintenance man had left a giant lawn tractor directly inside the garage door, and said tractor was now dead and could not be moved; then after work I drove to get Lucy from college and a return trip that is usually under two hours became nearly five due to an unexpected snowstorm. (I did barn chores at 9:30 PM.) In my coughing and lack of sleep I began to think there was some sort of Sinister Plot. However, I have endured and emerged on the other side.

It’s been so busy I haven’t even looked at my Fall List. Every day has been an endurance event sufficient unto itself. Now, though, I can take a deep breath and try to get organized. I have a few more loose ends to tie up for school, but those should only require a couple of hours. And, of course, yesterday it was -18° F, freezing both of my defective “frost-free” water hydrants at the barn, so I’ll also be sitting on an overturned bucket in the snow with a wrench and a propane torch for another couple of hours. Still — I’m free through January 2!

O happy day, with Christmas carols, a cup of coffee, and the pleasure of creating a Vacation List!

I look forward to catching up on this blog.

5 Responses to Hooray! It’s Vacation!

  1. Newly says:

    And your readers look forward to hearing your updates and observations! xoxo

  2. Elaine Murphy says:

    Selden you seem to be in the Bermuda Triangle of bad luck! It can’t get any worse….Valerie has frost free faucets (????) connected to a heater hose to water the horses, she has been putting hand warmers around the faucet, it keeps them thawed for about 8 hours. Enjoy your holidays… Merry Christmas to you and the family…

Leave a Reply

