-18° This Morning

Yesterday morning it was -14° F. Tomorrow we are due to have 40 mph winds with snow.

This is perfectly normal for the High Peaks in January — in fact, when the weather strays too far from its appointed rounds, I worry. However, that does not mean I enjoy the cold, the wind, the dark, the frozen pipes, the ice, the bad roads. This year I have the added anxiety of trying to have a house built in this weather.

To cheer myself up yesterday, I counted how long it would be until the Great Melt in mid-April. Gee, only a little more than three months! That will pass quickly!

Then I remembered that my long, luxurious summer vacation from school is also three months. Maybe it won’t be as quick as I hope.

2 Responses to -18° This Morning

  1. Shawn says:

    Think about this time next year…snug in your new house…looking out over your animals and maybe…a book in your hands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

