Yahoo for Moxie!

api

 

Good news. The email arrived. Moxie is in calf! Way to go, Pee-Wee!

pregnant

I could have sent a blood test in for Elsa but that would have required wrestling a halter onto her and calling my friend Alison (a nurse) to draw blood. I’ll just watch Elsa’s figure.

Moxie is older and more fragile and now that I am sure she is pregnant, I know when to wean the calf, Mel Gibson.

Since I didn’t see any breeding, all I can guess is that calving will fall between mid-June and mid-July. I will be glad of the warm weather, especially as it is likely that Moxie will come down with milk fever again. (Always easier to fight a deadly metabolic imbalance when you’re not also fighting sub-zero temperatures!)

5 Responses to Yahoo for Moxie!

  1. Shawn says:

    Hurray on the positive report card! I’m so glad to see an update about your cattle. Glad you found a bull and relief milker.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, me, too. With both my children gone from home, my need for milk is almost zero. I’m thinking of gradually switching to beefers in the coming years, but we shall see.

  2. Ned says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Shawn says:

    I’m making the switch to beefers, too. (Great minds think alike) Easier keepers and less maintenance. I will, however, always have at least one milk cow. 🙂

Leave a Reply

