More Second Floor

This has been a hectic week. Students have been falling like nine-pins to flu with 103° fevers, the weather has see-sawed with high winds, and as the problems have multiplied I’ve been constantly late and rushing. The barn water hydrants froze. The DVD drive on my old computer — which I need for teaching — failed. My car battery unexpectedly went dead. That day I drove my truck to work, trying to outsmart the faulty brakes’ desire to lock up on any slippery surface. Think fast!

On Wednesday at morning chores, the 50-mph wind was shrieking around the barn, scattering the hay put out for the animals into the air and tearing a flapping strip from the housewrap on the house. I thought glumly that there would be no progress that day. However by early afternoon the wind had died, and when I arrived after work I saw the men had been busy on the second floor.

I braved the ice and my serious fear of heights to climb the ladder to see.

img_0664

They had used the brief lull in the winds to lift up all the interior wall panels…

img_0672

… as well as the last pieces of the exterior walls.

img_0670

A few of the wall panels had been nailed in. I tiptoed around, greeting even the most mundane spaces with delight. Hello, linen closet!

img_0673

As I looked out the window of our future bedroom I felt tears pricking in my eyes. It’s really coming true.

img_0667

6 Responses to More Second Floor

  1. Mac West says:

    Yay! I’m so thrilled to see this progress.

  2. Jane Welker says:

    I am so happy for you!

  3. Jessica says:

    So you don’t know me from Adam but after years of lurk reading your blog I just have to comment how excited I am for you! You have been a continual source of inspiration and encouragement for me and I am beyond thrilled that you are finally getting your house! (And that view from your bedroom is absolutely lovely!)

  4. Ned says:

    I love those views.

  5. Jenna says:

    Beautiful!!!

  6. adkmilkmaid says:

    Thank you, Mac, Jane, Jessica, Ned, and Jenna for your very, very kind words! Jessica, I’m happy to know you have been “lurk-reading.” I too am a frequent lurker. 🙂 Welcome!

Leave a Reply

