Catching Up On the Dream House

img_0688

Wow! It has been six weeks since I updated with news on our house-building. Between teaching, our trip to New York City, moving out of our current lodgings, moving back, showing evening movies to my students, plus lambs arriving, the pace has been pell-mell.

Still, every day before or after work I would climb ladders and tiptoe around the work site, feasting my eyes. This post will be picture-heavy.

First, all the second-story interior wall frames were erected.

img_0683

Once those were in place, the outside gable wall frames began to go up. There were a few days of strange-looking pieces jutting into empty air.

img_0691

But soon the roofline began to take recognizable shape.

img_0693

Next came the ceiling joists.

img_0696

Followed by the ridge board.

img_0703

Next came the rafters.

img_0711

At this point a snowstorm was predicted. I drove down to the farm that Saturday to find Nick and Mike pulling giant tarps over the roof framing.

img_0709

My contribution to this building project has been almost nil, beyond writing checks. However, that day I hung around to pass up furring strips, to be nailed down over the tarps to secure them.

img_0714

It took them most of the day to tarp the entire house and cover the window openings.

img_0721

But at last it was done. Let it snow!

img_0723

It did…

img_0738

… but the house stayed dry. Lucy was home that weekend for her races and kindly climbed ladders (now the ladders were inside, in the future stairwells — very comforting not to be scrambling up the outside walls) and walked through the house with me. It was fun to have someone share a bit of my excitement. Here is Lucy standing in her future bedroom, just before the window frame was covered with plastic.

img_0719

Over the next week the tarp was peeled back and the front half of the roof was sheathed in OSB …

img_2119

… which was in turn covered with ice and water shield. I had wondered how the men would manage scaffolding high over the icy, sloping ground. The answer: they built it, cantilevered from the window frames. I’m sure this is often done, but it struck me as ingenious.

img_2116

Meanwhile, the electrician, Dan, was wiring the house. Here he is running lines in the future kitchen.

img_2118

In the photo they have removed the old wall sheathing, preparatory to building a doorway, and you can see through the plastic to the mudroom. Currently the mudroom is filled with half our possessions (the other half is stacked in the garage). One of my jobs for this vacation will be to empty the mudroom into our new basement, so the mudroom can be wired, insulated, and finished.

Walls, wires, outlets, the beginnings of plumbing pipes — to me it is all exciting.

img_2130

During the week we were living at the farm, DH climbed ladders to look at it with me. He is a good man with zero interest in houses or ability to imagine spaces, but he wanted to make me happy. “Nice, nice,” he murmured, looking around in obvious bewilderment.

“It will be nice,” I reassured him.

The windows and doors were delivered.

img_2132

Mike and Nick hung OSB on the ceilings of the second floor, to be a strengthening layer beneath the future sheetrock. “That’s something we add extra,” said Mike cheerfully. “That’s the way we do things!” The photo below is looking through the wall of Lucy’s bedroom to Jon and Amanda’s room.

img_2131

Mike’s boom truck (a retired town electric truck) has been invaluable to this project, and for months was parked permanently in front of the building. Here is Nick nailing up the eaves on the western face of the house.

img_0766

Another “extra” Nick and Mike provided was supplementary wind bracing under the roof.

img_0774

By now, they had an appreciation for the windiness at my farm. After all the nailed and taped Tyvek house wrap tore off for the second time, scattering green-capped nails like confetti, they let it go. They will replace it with fresh wrap just before they put up the permanent siding.

img_2161

Finally there were two days without wind and the back roof sheathing could be installed and covered with ice and water shield.

img_2165

Nick and Mike were still on the roof when I finished barn chores at dusk. I could see the glow of their propane torch as they carefully warmed the edges of the tarry material to tack down the seams.

img_2180

They are meticulous craftsmen and I could not be happier with the quality of their work. Throughout my childhood, I heard my parents refer reverently to the contractor who built their house in 1954. Given my experience with builders, I thought the breed was extinct. However Nick and his father are in the same pantheon.

A few days later, temporary stairs replaced the ladder, and insulation was delivered. From now on, Jerry would be insulating the walls every day.

img_2215

Insulation was also blown into the “tippy-top” (a name from my childhood), the inacessible space above the second floor.

img_2227

Though I could potentially install a drop-down folding ladder and make this a useful crawl space for light storage, there is no need. There is the full basement plus a walk-in attic room over the mudroom.

Then — windows! If I told you how often I have had tears in my eyes, looking out window frames and now windows, you would know I was crazy.

img_2216

Every day after work was like Christmas: what will be today’s gift? One day it was the windows and sliding glass doors in the southwest corner of the dining room.

img_2239

Then — four more: the north windows of our bedroom, the office, and the living room.

img_2245

With all the heavy pieces safely lifted to the second story, now Mike could move his boom truck, and the misplaced front door opening became more obvious. I discovered this mistake in a panic a few weeks ago. The house company checked its plans and discovered a typo in the computer code. They offered to send a man to fix it, but Nick is (if possible) even more territorial than I am. He will fix it himself. The opening will move 10″ to the west, to be centered on the wall.

Next our west bedroom windows were installed.

img_2247

… and finally, Jon and Amanda’s bedroom window.

img_2252

Now the house is almost closed in: just Lucy’s bedroom windows, the front door, the basement door, and the glass door to the future screen porch still to go.

Happy days!

 

 

 

8 Responses to Catching Up On the Dream House

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Your house is beautiful! Great job designing it…..

  2. Shawn says:

    Fabulous!! It’s going to be a gorgeous house in a lovely setting. I’ve been so excited, waiting to see the updated pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Mac West says:

    Lovely Sel. Can’t wait to drop by!

  4. Jane Welker says:

    Wow!!! I am SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!! ❤

  5. Newly says:

    As perhaps the only person alive who remembers the building of our childhood home, I hereby award Nick and Mike with the Emil Troika Evergreen on the Roofbeam Award for Excellence in Construction! This is so exciting! I remember when Driftway looked like this. I can’t wait to come and see the finished house. xoxo

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      🙂 I was trying to remember his name. It seems to me that Mom and Dad always spoke of “Mr. Troika” in hushed tones. I am just as grateful.

Leave a Reply

