Sheetrocking Done!

In recent days I have been sick with a terrible headache, the kind that wakes you up in the middle of the night, turns your stomach, and makes it impossible to sleep. This has been mystifying to me. I am normally a labrador retriever among humans. My basic setting is obliviousness. I have no allergies or health problems. I am extremely lucky and galumph through life paying little attention to my physical body. Though I get coughs and sniffles, bumps and bruises, and arthritic aches and pains, I generally can press on without too much misery. But not this week. DH has been off on a business trip and my head has been pounding. So I have fallen behind on this blog.

The sheetrocking of the main house is basically complete. Almost all of the last bits and orts have been closed in. In the photo of above you can see the living room. The wall around the stairwell is finished. Someday, I hope an antique bookcase from my grandmother’s house will stand against this wall. In the meantime, the front door is still propped against the north wall, blocking the living room window. Apparently the door goes in after the sheetrock is taped and mudded. Who knew?

See this dull northwest corner of the living room?

This is where the gas stove is going to go. This winter I have looked at a lot of gas stoves. As someone who has heated with wood, and split and carried a lot of logs, there is something distressingly dude-rancher-ish about a gas stove that you click on with a remote. Still, that is what we’re going to have in retirement, and I know we will enjoy it, so I’ve been searching.

Unfortunately, it seems most people have fancier taste than I do. The gas stoves I’ve seen locally seem to feature lots of bright enamel and glazing and curlicues and glass. These extras make most stoves both extremely expensive and even further from my taste. Thus I was thrilled last week to drive to the nearby city and find a plain matte black gas stove that reminded me of our old Vermont Castings wood burner. Amazingly, it also has more positive reviews, a better warranty, and is 2/3 of the price of the fancy ones. Score!

I found a photo of a simple mantel and fireplace set-up online and I’m waiting to hear if Nick can build it inexpensively in the corner behind the stove.

Here is the view looking through the dining room and kitchen to the mudroom doorway, now covered with insulation. As you can see, the plumbing above the windows has been entirely boxed in.

The same view, but from the southwest corner: the doorway to the cellar, the hall doorway, and the pantry wall and entry.

The doorways to the office and the half-bath, from the living room doorway at the foot of the stairs.

Upstairs: the master bedroom, with our windows, bathroom, and walk-in closet.

Jon and Amanda’s room has been finished for a while, but now the stove-pipe for the wood cookstove in the mudroom has been boxed in. This has eaten up part of their closet.

There remains about 8″ between the wall of the closet doorway and the box for the stove pipe, right inside the door. I know my father would build a shoe rack or some other clever item for that space. I will have to think and consult with others more ingenious than myself.

But put in mind of my ingenious dad, I asked the builders to sheetrock down the inside of the eave. I told Amanda that there would be this little extra space in the closet and she emailed back, “Fortunately I am small —” As I read I began to chuckle, thinking of Amanda’s little bottom receding into the distance as she disappeared into the bowels of the eave.

Still, I imagine the extra space will come in useful someday.

Here is the far wall of Jon and Amanda’s room. They are going tomorrow to look at a dresser and mirror listed on Craigslist for this six-foot wall.

Connecticut has many more options in used furniture than the Adirondacks. I foresee potential trips with my truck in the future.

Meanwhile, Lucy’s room is also done and the men have started sheetrocking the attic above the mudroom, which is accessed through her bedroom.

The attic is not included in the house contract. The plan was always that I would pay for the insulation, but do the sheetrocking myself. However Nick convinced me to let them go ahead and put up the sheetrock, too. This sheetrock is left over from building the apartment seven years ago. I am merely paying for their labor to put it up.

The sheets are big and heavy and I hadn’t been quite sure how I would manage the job alone. I had figured I would google it — google being the modern equivalent of the book Dad gave to each of his children: Reader’s Digest’s How to Do Just About Anything. But it would have taken me a week. . .

.. and I think it will take the two men a few hours. The attic will not be taped and mudded; my goal is simply an insulated, smooth-walled storage space.

And now the crew doing the taping of the house will be arriving any day!

 

6 Responses to Sheetrocking Done!

  1. huntbz says:

    I enjoy reading about the progress of your dream house – we’ll be embarking on a similar effort in a few years in VT so I may be interested in your builders you speak so highly of.
    Also, if you do make it to CT for a furniture pick up, we have the only Clun Forest sheep in Connecticut (bloodlines from Touchstone)! We’d be happy to host you for a visit if you are ever looking for another source of breeding stock.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      That’s wonderful. Yes, I have now had experience with four different contractors and these builders have been a miraculous find after the well-intentioned but slipshod other three. They are simply great. Where are you in CT? I looked for your blog but the page says it has been deleted. I’d love to know more about your Cluns.

  2. Elaine Murphy says:

    Selden it’s almost finished! I can smell the the drywall and joint compound..Your dream home is truly here!

  3. Shawn says:

    Looking good!!

Leave a Reply

