Starting the Porch!

The house is sheetrocked and waiting for the “tapers” (typing this word I think of church candles, but in fact it refers to the crew who will arrive, starting tomorrow, to tape the drywall).

In the meantime, Nick, his father Mike, and his uncle Jerry have begun work on the wrap-around porch. The porch deck (before its roof goes on) will serve as their staging area to put up the house’s siding and metal roofing. It will be good for them to have a level spot in the sea of sloping mud and rocks.

The builders’ careful work last November has paid off now. Though they’ve checked and re-checked with a laser level, the poured concrete Sonotubes are perfectly aligned.

After only two days, most of the floor joists of the front section are in.

If you knew how often tears come to my eyes, you would not believe it.

6 Responses to Starting the Porch!

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Woohoo!!!

  2. Shawn says:

    For 16 years we lived in our old farmhouse, vinyl siding, drafts, mice and all. In addition, we desperately needed more space, as our “bedroom” was the room you walked through to get to a back bedroom. Finally, in the year it turned 100, we were able to add a master bedroom, a tiny second bathroom and a large mudroom complete with milk sink. Along with the addition came sprayed in attic insulation, new roofing, OSB and house wrap, and new siding.
    I TOTALLY GET IT!! 🙂

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Shawn, I feel like I remember photos of that renovation from KFC! and the sink, which I drooled over! Could that be possible or have I lost my mind? I hope your remodeled farmhouse has been everything you dreamed of for so long!

  3. Shawn says:

    Yes, you do remember correctly! Having that sink has made it possible for me to milk TAD during the summer, filling our freezer with about 50# of butter each summer. So I still love my sink. And having recently spent a vacation in some not-so-well-insulated accommodations, I realize just how well our house is performing now in that regard.
    I am so excited for you. What a spectacular life change this will be!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I remember the beauty of your fabulous sink. In fact, your sink inspired me to put an offer in on a farm sink I found abandoned in the back of a very old barn down the road, hoping to put it in my kitchen. Unfortunately, when I went to design my kitchen, the farm sink would not fit without reconfiguring the entire downstairs of the house so I did not buy it. But now, I hear your sink is in your mudroom??!!! Please, please post photos here so I can drool and possibly scheme some more. I have not closed in the walls of my mudroom yet! 🙂

  4. Shawn says:

    I’m so flattered you remember! The day I picked up my sink from the refinisher, it was and bright sunny out. A friend looked at it in the truck bed and asked in a rather horrified manner, “You’re going to put that in your MUD ROOM?” I then said, “I built the mudroom for the sink!” I’m wondering if I can figure out how to post a pic here. Let me go think on that.

Leave a Reply

