Springtime in the Adirondacks

Spring in the High Peaks is always tricky, and often disappointing. Yesterday, May 8, we woke up to a thin blanket of fresh snow. There were snow showers and sleeting through the day, and at supper time it began snowing hard.

This morning we have another inch of new snow on the ground. The rest of the week is due to be cold and rainy.

The dark skies and chill winds are not uplifting. However I’m so grateful not to be worrying about drought this year, I am thanking God.

 *  *  *

On Sunday afternoon I fell prey to a strange, violent and painful stomach reaction and I’ve been sick and weak ever since. At the worst of it, all I could think was: how could I have been complaining while healthy? I need to remember gratitude all the time.

2 Responses to Springtime in the Adirondacks

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Payton also had a stomache problem on Saturday night. Vomiting throughout the night with stomache pain, no appetite for a couple of days. Jen was watching for appendicitis symptoms. Gone to school today.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      So sorry to hear about Payton. I thought I had some kind of food poisoning! Or possibly an allergic reaction (though I have no allergies). It was really terrible. I hope Payton is back to 100%!

Leave a Reply

