Juggling

The good news is that Damon figured out what was wrong with my truck. We were due to pick it up on Saturday when he called me. “I woke up in the middle of the night and I was thinkin’ — maybe the brake shoe in the back fell off and is jammin’. Have ’em pull off the drum and take a look.” The shop called me yesterday. This was indeed the issue.

The bad news is that the total bill for repairs will be $1500. My scalp is starting to twitch. I have had our expenses parsed to the dime and was already short. $2000 in vehicle repairs in two days was not in my plans.

My days are crazily busy, every minute scheduled from now until June 7, when school is out. So many tasks and so many worries that I’ve forgotten something. Did I order the toilets? Did I measure for the countertops? What about the bathroom tile?  On Saturday renters for the farm apartment arrive; after work this week I need to clean the apartment, touch up paint, and write the lease. I’ve chosen a bank for our mortgage but must schedule the application date around the time the house is expected to be ready for appraisal. That appears to mean I cannot apply until June 15. Not only may the rate go up but sixty days later, at the closing date, DH will be in South America. I’m adding Look into getting a Power of Attorney to the list. In my professional life I’m teaching, correcting tests, and writing diplomas. This weekend I have to start writing final reports for all my students and creating yearbook pages for all the graduating seniors. Monday I host a class dinner for 25.

Meanwhile the coyote apparently came back yesterday in daylight and stole another hen. I need to walk the fences in the north and south pastures and turn those lines on. The challenge is to find the time. Every morning it takes an hour to move the sheep before work, and another half hour to muck out the barn.

My brain is so overloaded I don’t make a move without my lists. I can’t take my eyes off the ball. Focus, focus, focus.

Two more weeks and the worst will be over.

5 Responses to Juggling

  1. Shawn says:

    Save all your receipts for that. It may turn out they have a recall and would reimburse you. I had that happen on my car once. We replaced the computer (it died on vacation) and 3 years later they had a recall. I got all my money back.

  2. RHB says:

    If you did not muck the barn….”1″ day….would life come to an end? Keeping the coyote out is more important at this time than delaying mucking or not getting all of the mucking done in “1” day. KEEP YOUR CHIN UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, you are right. It’s hard to prioritize properly when you’re at a dead run all the time. Thanks!

  3. Newly says:

    Like Shawn, we had a $1500 repair bill on our 2007 vehicle that was later reimbursed after a recall. Save your receipts. xoxo

Leave a Reply

