Such Exciting News!

Not long ago we received a parcel in the mail addressed to Lucy, DH, and me. There were instructions to wait to open it until we were all together. In the box were these tiny onesies. My son Jon and his wife Amanda are expecting a baby at Christmas! Wheee!

I am very excited. I think I have been preparing to be a grandmother for half my life.

My mind fastens on inessentials. I am ready with the Duplos and the children’s books! And: I’ll have to find out what name Judy (Amanda’s mother) wants to be called. I love “Grandma” but if she wants that one, I’ve known grandmothers called Mama, Gram, Nana, Nanny, Mimi, Yaya, and Tita. Allen teasingly called me Granny, as in Granny Clampett. The name isn’t important to me. What’s important is a healthy baby with that sweet baby smell and toothless smile.

Bring on December! I certainly agree with Melanie in Gone With the Wind: “The happiest days are when babies come!”

9 Responses to Such Exciting News!

  1. Jody says:

    How exciting!! Congratulations to all!!

  2. Shawn says:

    Congratulations!

  3. Elaine Murphy says:

    OMG! What exciting news! Being a Nana is wonderful…

  4. Mac West says:

    Congratulations! My vote is Mama but only if its pronounced Mahmuh.

  5. adkmilkmaid says:

    Thank you, everyone! I’m thrilled! πŸ˜€

  6. Jenna says:

    Congratulations everyone!!!

  7. Ned says:

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

