Can’t Flag Now

I have driven to Vermont five times in the last ten days. In addition to my toilet misadventures, I have been furnishing the house from Craigslist and yard sales. I’ve driven many twisty rural roads, seen some spectacular views, and met a number of kind and friendly people.

Given that our budget is depleted and we will be moving in ten days, I’ve picked up some items that are not my style (which is old-fashioned). However I have purchased a bed, sofas, dressers, nightstands, a table, dining room chairs, living room chairs, and rugs for a total of $1500 and it’s all clean and sturdy. Though some of it isn’t the look I love, I think everything will be fine, at least for the first year. I keep remembering the wise words of my brother-in-law, Don: “Just get the house.”

Today would be a great day to rest and re-group. (Tomorrow I am due to drive to Connecticut to pick up the Craigslist items that Amanda and Jon kindly purchased there on my behalf.) However my lists β€” cabinet pulls? ceiling fans? kitchen lights? bathroom vanities? shower floor tiles? remember to get more liquor store boxes in town for packing! β€” woke me at 2:30 AM . . . and I’m fatalistic that Moxie may choose today to calve.

I can’t flag now. There’s too much to do. I remind myself that in a month this tired time will be a blur.

5 Responses to Can’t Flag Now

  1. Elaine Murphy says:

    Check Habitat for Humanity in Connecticut. They may have a website like we have in Manchester. Really good stuff!

  2. Elaine Murphy says:

    Selden, I checked and there are 2 in Williston, Vt. Check the website…

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks, Elaine! I am excited! I go to Williston to pick up toilets on Friday or Saturday! πŸ™‚ (Those sentences seem odd but you know what I mean!) πŸ™‚

  3. Elaine Murphy says:

    ❀️

Leave a Reply

