The Tipping Point

Yesterday I hit bottom with this move. Despite many setbacks I haven’t cried, but yesterday I broke down and wept. What was my tipping point?

A kitchen cabinet. Yes, really.

Months ago I worked with a lumberyard’s kitchen designer to create my cabinetry plan. Yesterday morning I was unloading the dishwasher and went to put a pan away in the pots-and-pans lower cabinet. I have had a lazy susan corner cabinet for pots and pans in every home I have lived in for the last 30 years. I believed I had ordered another for this kitchen β€” just as I’d purchased one for the rental apartment in 2010.

The pan would not fit.

The opening to the cabinet is 6 inches wide. The lazy susan shelves are 6 inches deep. The top shelf is two feet tall. What would one store in such a space? Spaghetti standing on end? The containers would tip over. This expensive cabinet is a completely useless waste of space.

This felt like a last straw. Once again I’d paid a professional and been snookered as a fool. I burst into sobs and cried and cried. I think Lucy was deeply alarmed. (I know kitchen cabinets are a first world problem. I am aware of how privileged I am. But I am tired.)

I think that was my low point. After barn chores I changed my clothes, drove the dogs to the vet, and stopped to buy a 9V battery to build pantry shelves.

10 Responses to The Tipping Point

  1. RHB says:

    You mean to tell me that the contractor installed these and never made any mention of this to you? You mean the lumber yard where you ordered them didn’t say “Are you sure you want a corner cabinet that is this very odd size” (I just want to make sure before I order them or have them made…..but if that is what you want we will get them started)???

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      The contractor did not mention it, though he confessed yesterday (seeing my tears) that he had thought it was very strange and he had never seen a cabinet like it. The kitchen designer CHOSE the cabinet and never mentioned anything to me at all about the peculiar size! I believed it was for pots and pans! When I wrote to ask her what she could have been thinking, she replied that the cabinet “fit the space.”

      • RHB says:

        “STUPID” response from the designer…..in my opinion.
        This should be reported to the store owner.

  2. Ned says:

    Exhaustion. I am surprised it took this long from following your journey. You are a very strong woman to have lasted this long. You have taken on an awful lot for one person. I’m keeping you in my prayers.

  3. Elaine Murphy says:

    Does the building department of the town require smoke and carbon monoxide detectors be hard wired? We have these in our homes, your electrician could easily do it.

    That cabinet should be replaced at their cost.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Yes, we have hard-wired smoke detectors (installed on Monday… all day long a mechanical woman’s voice screamed FIRE! amid sirens pulsing). I’m not sure about carbon monoxide but I will check. THANKS!

  4. V says:

    I have been following these posts with prayers for you. Out last move was to return to our house nine months after a devastatng fire. The nine years prior to the fire we spent renovating our home, doing everything – doors ,walls,framing, roofing, wiring, etc, except masonary and plumbing and hvac. Eighteen years later, after the fire, I still hate my kitchen sinks and other quirks of the rebuild BUT those sinks have held the scraps of every salad and washed the dishes at every gathering. Exhaustion will unfortunately be your companion this summer probably, there is not way around it in spite of your lists. Some days you will most likely stay in neutral and some days you will make progress eventhough you feel as if you are going in reverse. As a list maker i can appreciate you need for order. I know that eventually you will have more than 3 plates, stacks of boxes and soggy books around you. Hoping you feel some support as you get through this challenging time.

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      Thanks so much. Your story makes me feel bad for whining! I am SO lucky not to have had a fire, SO much worse than our brief flooding. But I also was grateful to see your mention of hating your sinks. I had to buy a kitchen faucet on the fly β€” we needed a working sink! β€” and it is ugly. I look at it in displeasure every day. However, I am sure, like your sinks, it will work fine and fill plenty of pitchers, dog bowls, and milk bottles over the years. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Shawn says:

    Since replacing the cabinet is not likely, here’s what I’d try. First, ask the cabinet maker if they have another shelf that can be installed, to at least use that 2′ of top space a bit wiser. If they don’t, then I’d be looking for a shelf that sits upon a lazy susan to better utilize the space.

    Sorry, that stinks. For many months you have indicated that you felt like you were in over your head and wondered what you might have overlooked in design/size, etc. So there it is. You found the flaw, now it’s over, and you can move on. (Just peeking toward the bright side?!?) πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

