Peter Rabbit

Yesterday while unpacking boxes I found this porcelain switchplate cover featuring Peter Rabbit. In the summer of 2000, our mother took my older sister and me on a ten-day tour of Great Britain (though my big sister is a happy world traveler, I think our mother guessed this might be my single international travel experience).

I bought the Wedgwood switchplate at Hill Top, the home of Beatrix Potter, in England’s Lake District. We would have our own home soon and I knew this would be perfect for the bedroom of my girl, Lucy, then two years old.

Yesterday I picked up the plate and remembered Meryl Streep’s line in Out of Africa: “Perhaps he knew, as I did not, that the Earth was made round so that we would not see too far down the road.”

Lucy is a good sport and quite willing to have Peter on her wall at nearly 20. Unfortunately her room has a double switch so the plate will not fit.

Maybe the pantry!

8 Responses to Peter Rabbit

  1. Jack Merritt says:

    Use that plate somewhere its history is important.

  2. Newly says:

    I think you should consider putting it in the pantry for a while at least. When you look at it, and are discouraged as Peter was, perhaps it will remind you of all of the friendly sparrows who are ready to fly to you in great excitement. xoxo

    • adkmilkmaid says:

      I had to reread Peter and remember the friendly sparrows in their great excitement! This was a wonderful thought and a real boost to my spirits. Since the pantry light switch is actually in the kitchen, I think I may put Peter in my office so I can think of him and his sparrow encouragement at regular intervals. 🙂

  3. RHB says:

    Put it in a frame and that will be one more your daughter can remember her grandmother….

  4. Elaine Murphy says:

    Install it in the room where your new grandchild will sleep..the tradition continues?

Leave a Reply

